Our Mission

The Copake Lake Conservation Society’s sole mission is to preserve the quality of the Copake Lake watershed by maintaining its ecological balance and by promoting recreational lake safety.


Anyone who enjoys Copake Lake cannot help but appreciate and realize how fortunate we are to have this pristine natural resource to enjoy all year long. But did you know, the lake needs the community to keep it healthy? Memberships and donations are the primary source of revenue for CLCS – we receive no public funding of any kind.

CLCS membership is open to anyone age 18 or older and who has made a minimum contribution of $150/year. Each paid membership entitles the individual or household to one vote. Membership must be paid for the current year in order to vote at the Annual Meeting in July.


The CLCS is a member supported organization that is managed by a volunteer Board of Trustees. Trustees are elected to hold office for a term of two years, and must meet the following qualifications:

  • 1
    Be committed to the mission and goals of CLCS
  • 2
    Participate in various tasks and programs undertaken by the Board of Trustees
  • 3
    Be paid up as a full member at the time of application
  • 4
    Sign a conflict of interest statement

Any member who meets the qualifications may apply to the Board of Trustees for candidacy. The Board meets a minimum of three times annually, and meetings are open to all members. We are currently looking for interested, qualified CLCS members to join our Board of Trustees. If you would like to apply, click on the link below to download an application:

Click here to download the CLCS Board of Trustees Application


  • Debra Ruggieri, President
  • Ed Werfelman, Vice President
  • Jennifer Oliveira, Treasurer
  • Jackie Bernstein, Recording Secretary
  • Lynn Gelman, Corresponding Secretary
  • Cherie Berk
  • Fred Bunger
  • Colleen Closson
  • David Craw
  • Joyce Craw
  • Julie Hochheiser Ilkovich
  • Lindsay LeBrecht
  • Jed Luchow
  • Muriel Muldorf
  • Liz Nealon
  • Maria Powers
  • Barbara Rindler
  • Deborah Sprague
  • Russ Stein
  • Stu Troyetsky 
  • Janna Meyrowitz Turner
  • Ilise Zimmerman-Posen


Get involved with CLCS. Join any of the many committees listed below. It’s a great way to meet new people and help your lake community. Let any one of us know of your interest in person or by email. GET INVOLVED!


The Communications Committee designs, publishes, and monitors various media communications, such as the newsletter, website, email correspondence, social media and road signs.


  • ​​Joyce Craw
  • ​Jed Luchow (editor)*
  • ​Sharon Luchow** 
  • Barbara Rindler
  • ​Debra Ruggieri
  • Marcia Untracht**

Electronic Communications

  • Julie Hochheiser Ilkovich
  • Lindsay LeBrecht
  • Janna Meyrowitz Turner
  • Liz Nealon*
  • Barbara Rindler
  • Deborah Sprague


  • ​Cherie Berk
  • Janna Meyrowitz Turner
  • Ed Werfelman


The Education Committee is responsible for the design, writing, and dissemination of educational materials, and the presentation of educational programs for the membership.

  • ​Cherie Berk
  • ​Liz Nealon
  • ​Maria Powers*
  • ​Debra Ruggieri


​The Finance Committee supports the functions of the treasurer, including the creation of an annual budget, the purchase and review of insurance policies, year end audit, bookkeeping, and filing of tax returns.

  • Jennifer Oliveira
  • ​Barbara Rindler
  • ​Debra Ruggieri
  • Ed Werfelman*


The Fundraising Committee designs, proposes and organizes activities designed to raise funds for the organization.

  • ​Jackie Bernstein
  • Colleen Closson
  • ​Lynn Gelman
  • Lindsay LeBrecht
  • Janna Meyrowitz Turner
  • Muriel Muldorf
  • Julie Hochheiser Ilkovich*
  • Debra Ruggieri
  • Deborah Sprague
  • Edward Werfelman*
  • Ilise Zimmerman-Posen

Lake Management

The Lake Management Committee is responsible for the collection, analysis, and dissemination of information regarding the vitality and maintenance of the waters, shoreline, and watershed of Copake Lake. The Grant Committee (GC) is a sub-committee of Lake Management Committee.

  • Barbara Bunger** 
  • ​Fred Bunger*
  • ​David Craw -  GC
  • ​Brad Dubler**
  • Russ Funk**
  • ​Lindsay LeBrecht
  • ​Jed Luchow
  • ​Debra Ruggieri
  • ​Keith Schaefer**
  • Buddy Sinisi**
  • Russ Stein* - GC
  • ​Stu Troyetsky
  • ​Jon Urban**
  • ​Ed Werfelman
  • ​Mike Whitcomb**
  • ​Ilise Zimmerman-Posen


​The Membership Committee maintains a list of membership, addresses, and contribution history; and generates materials that assist in maintaining membership roles.

  • ​Debra Ruggieri*
  • ​All Board Members


​The Nominating Committee is responsible for producing a slate of candidates for the election of trustees, and a slate of candidates for the Officers of the Corporation.

  • ​Joyce Craw*
  • ​Jed Luchow
  • Ed Werfelman